#REVIEW: All the Bright Places

Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Title: All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Knopf
Publish Date: January 6, 2015
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

Synopsis: he Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
*Post updated on 06/08/16 to fit in with new review format*

First Thoughts: I was a bit skeptical of this book. I had gotten it from the library, but never got around to reading it. Then, my friend got it for me for my birthday so I knew I had to read it.

Cover: The cover is very simple, and I like it. I think I like simple covers the most.

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

Characters:
Finch- He was a memorable main character. I’ve never read a book with someone like him in it, let alone the main character. I loved all of his personalities, and I just loved him as a character.

Violet- I really don’t have an opinion on Violet. She wasn’t a favorite character.

Plot: This was another sad, realistic book that deals with suicide and real issues. I have to say that I really liked it. You really got to see inside of the character’s heads and know what they were thinking. You could tell that they were sad and depressed. I really connected with this book.

“You are all the colors in one, at full brightness.”

Ending: I didn’t cry at the ending. I guess I knew all along that was going to happen, so it wasn’t much of a shock.

Overall: The writing was really good. It was captivating. I’ve gotten my friend to start reading All the Bright Places and she hasn’t put it down. She was trying to walk down the hallway with her nose stuck in the book because she was so captivated lol :)

If you liked The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, you should try All the Bright Places because it deals with real life issues and you’ll picture the story happening right in front of you.


If you are thinking about suicide, please know that you are not alone. Feel free to talk to me about anything. You can email me, and I'll be there for you. Below are some numbers and websites for suicide prevention. You are not alone.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
1-800-273-8255
List of Suicide Hotlines for Whatever State You Live In

Share:

2 comments

  1. Awesome review! I've had my eye on this one! The blurb sort of scared me, though! I'm scared of getting too sad! Suicide is such a sad topic. ):

    Thank you for sharing!

    Pearl @ AsteriskPearl's Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hiya!

      Thank you!

      Suicide is such a sad topic, but I'm hoping with posting this review I can help others get help. I'm actually about to add links and stuff for people thinking about suicide.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      -Kayl

      Delete